Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS GradedComics PedigreesComics Restoration and ConservationGrading Help Needed

Being taught to grade comics.587

Collector jwalker0094 private msg quote post Address this user
I've been collecting comics since I was a child. I have been doing this for quite some time. Although I've gotten pretty good at grading a comic book at first glance, I'm no professional. My question is, who teaches someone how to grade like the professionals? My dream job would be grading comics. I could do it until the day I died. There is a scale system that is used obviously, who decides the scale and do you have to be in the "business" to really learn the scale?
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector Muuko private msg quote post Address this user
In my opinion I think a good way to go about learning is from already graded comics on how they look and notes about them. I also like to talk with others and as a group come down to a decision. But I'm no professional so I wouldn't know either.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector jwalker0094 private msg quote post Address this user
I'm pretty good at being able to look at a book and guesstimate within a grade. I just really want to know how they look at a book and come together for a final decision and say "Yes, this book is an 8.0".
Post 3 IP   flag post
Collector sugarman private msg quote post Address this user
try the Overstreet Guide to Grading Comics. good book. has rules for each grade. lots of pictures.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Moderator Jesse_O private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker0094
I just really want to know how they look at a book and come together for a final decision and say "Yes, this book is an 8.0".