Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Grading Help NeededQuestions

Help possible water damage???:(20092

Collector TheShocker private msg quote post Address this user
Hello everyone first time posting on here. Just received this slab and it seems to me like it was somehow dunked in water. Im new to cbcs/graded collecting and this is my second in my collection.
Thank you all in advance.

Post 1 IP   flag post
The apple sauce and pudding were the best part... Bronte private msg quote post Address this user
What do the grading notes say?
Post 2 IP   flag post
If I could, I would. I swear. DrWatson private msg quote post Address this user
Batman/The Shadow #5

DC/Dynamite10 2017

Variant: Francesco Mattina Variant
Pedigree:

Authentic
White

Signees:
Witnessed Sigs: FRANCESCO MATTINA on 10/7/2017 & SCOTT SNYDER on 4/7/2018.

Notes:
tiny spine stress some barely breaks color
tiny surface wear front cover barely breaks color
Post 3 IP   flag post
The newest signature is five years old. Did you buy it as is? Submit it yourself? Have it pressed?
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector peterc777 private msg quote post Address this user
Could that be puddling?

thread on this forum

thread on another foum
Post 5 IP   flag post
Never seen puddling on a CBCS slab. Front almost looks like Newton rings.

There is a scan of the book with the notes and it doesn't seem to show what OP's pictures show. However, it's small.

If the OP just bought it, I'd send it back. Something odd has happened to that book between the time it was graded and the time it came into your possession.
Post 6 IP   flag post
"There, their, they're." GAC private msg quote post Address this user
Agreed....strange indeed...like that book went through or sat in some heavy humid climate or something.
Post 7 IP   flag post
It's like the Roach Motel for comic collectors. chester15 private msg quote post Address this user
Posted by "TheShoker".

Must be someone who shokes(?)