Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Comics Copper AgeComics PedigreesComics Silver AgeQuestions

Buying private collections: Do's and Dont's1657

Collector Odins_Raven private msg quote post Address this user
What are the DO's and DONT'S of buying private collections???

I recently came across a opportunity to potentially buy a private collection. I have never done this before and I am wondering if anyone with experience has some wisdom and tactics for negotiating with older collectors that they would be willing to share either on this thread or in pm?

I am not new to collecting but the people with the collection have no clue what they're books are worth but based on the info that the collection consists of "mostly DC's from the 60's-70's", I am wondering how I should approach any potential negotiations once I am able to actually see them. (They have not mentioned any keys or titles yet).

Thanks!
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector TyrantK private msg quote post Address this user
This may not help but when purchasing a large(ish) collection, I explain that "we need to be judging price off of fair MARKET value and not sentimental value." I have run into individuals that want to sell me book(s) based on values other than what it's worth, whatever that may be. If the individual starts playing hard ball, but is motivated to sell, then bring a price guide with you and price out some of the more "important" books. If possible, get a rough list of what's being offered and ball park what you are wanting to spend based off of those listed.

When/if keys are mentioned/introduced, I typically tackle those separately. For example, I will give you 500 bucks for these non-keys and then 500 for the set of keys. That way, the seller knows that I am at least acknowledging the importance of certain comics and that I am not trying to dick 'em over.

Hope this helps....
Post 2 IP   flag post