Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Collector Torr102 private msg quote post Address this user
I just looked at a grade of a book that I sent to cbcs with no pressing it was a 5.5. I looked at the notes and this is what it said.

Notes:
spine stress breaks color
many bends & indents front & back cover & moisture waves through book
few tiny stains back cover

I’m new to grading and don’t know anything about pressing and I was wondering would a press and clean have improved the grade by a lot? Also what does Off-White/White mean? Is that good or bad.
Post 1 IP   flag post
I'll probably wake up constipated. Pre_Coder private msg quote post Address this user
How about scans of the book prior to submission.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Sorry I don’t have scans of the book.
Post 3 IP   flag post
It was a one trick pony show but always hilarious. GAC private msg quote post Address this user
"improved the grade by a lot?" is relative but a press and clean would certainly improve or eliminate:

Notes:
many bends & indents front & back cover & moisture waves through book
few tiny stains back cover

It's probably a safe bet that a press and clean would improve your 5.5 grade.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Suck it up, buttercup!! KatKomics private msg quote post Address this user
Off-White/White is referring to the page colour - and is good!!

likely the bends, indents and moisture waves could be removed and would help the grade a lot.

Really depends on the colour breaking spine stress and the stains to see if a bump in grade could happen - water stains, rust etc really hit a book hard.
Post 5 IP   flag post
I guess the next I send books in I’ll get them pressed and cleaned. Thanks for the responds guys. I’m new to all this lol
Post 6 IP   flag post
Btw they shipped my books and should be delivered by Friday and that’s exactly 7 weeks lol so much for 6 weeks.
Post 7 IP   flag post