Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Collector oginecka private msg quote post Address this user
I'm quite new to collecting comic books. Sent in 10 of my favourites for slabbing to CBCS, which I'll hopefully get back soon.

I've heard that even a slabbed comic should not be exposed to sunlight due to discoloration. Is that true? How does this affect the grade in the long term? Is it possible to have a 9.8 slabbed comic that is actually a lot lower grade now, due to the discoloration happening to it over time?
Post 1 IP   flag post
I bought a meat grinder on amazon for $60 and it's changed my life. kaptainmyke private msg quote post Address this user
Yes, do not hang comics on your walls. Sunlight is the biggest enemy of toys and comic books.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector ninjarobert private msg quote post Address this user
Long exposure to ultraviolet light will fade all types of ink. That's why museums with old documents and paintings are often dark and do not allow flash photography. For that reason, I would not hang comics on walls unless you have them protected from UV light with UV blocking glass/acrylic.
Post 3 IP   flag post
I bought a meat grinder on amazon for $60 and it's changed my life. kaptainmyke private msg quote post Address this user
Agreed - I have UV protection on my framed original art and that's as far as I go. Everything else is inside a dark storeroom in dark boxes or storage tubs.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector moodswing private msg quote post Address this user
Always thought this is a real shame about our hobby. We can't display them or if we do, that evil sun ruins them.
Post 5 IP   flag post
I had no way of knowing that 9.8 graded copies signed by Adam Hughes weren't what you were looking for. drchaos private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaptainmyke
Yes, do not hang comics on your walls. Sunlight is the biggest enemy of toys and comic books.