Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »

What grading to get done signed comic?4573

Collector AW177 private msg quote post Address this user
Hello all,

I am a newbie to CGC/CBCS/graded comics and have a few questions that I hope you can help me with; please excuse me if these questions have been asked already! I just recently attended New York Comic Con 2017 and was lucky enough to get into the Agents of SHIELD signing, and thought it would be cool to get an Agents of SHIELD comic signed by the cast of the TV show. I was able to find a copy of Agents of SHIELD #1 (2016) and had the entire cast sign it - Jeph Loeb, Clark Gregg, Chloe Bennet, Ming-Na Wen, Elizabeth Henstridge, Iain De Caestecker, Henry Simmons and Natalia Cordova-Buckley.

My questions are:

- How much would it cost me to have this book graded by CBCS since it has about 8 signatures on it?

- Since the comic has already been signed, I don't really plan on selling my comic, would like to have it encased to preserve it, but you never know down the line and I may sell it one day. Which would be better - would it make more sense for me to get it graded by CGC and get a qualified green label, or perhaps even go with CBCS and get a red label, since they have a signature verification system? Which would be the more desired label by collectors in this case? Does a red label hold as much weight as a CGC yellow SS label?

- It confuses me as to why CGC does not have some type of signature/autograph verification system in place and think it's great that CBCS offers one - do you need to submit any evidence that the signatures are real before they give it a red verified label?

Thank you for being patent with a newbie and helping me out!!!
AW
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector eee91 private msg quote post Address this user
First off, welcome. Congrats on the book - sounds terrific. As for your questions-

-CBCS pricing is here https://www.cbcscomics.com/pricing