Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Signatures

What "pen" do you prefer for signatures?2731

Collector Drogio private msg quote post Address this user
Getting ready to go to my first con soon. I have a few books I'd like to have signed...either s.s. or verified...will depend on the price and if I can arrange a witness.

One thing I am is particular...I'm not a big fan of writing on books, but done with taste I can see the attraction. That includes a signature color that compliments the cover art.

So for the few books I'm thinking of having signed...And because I'm a noob at this, I'd like to hear what others recommend as a writing utensil (style/make of pen or marker) to bring to have a basic modern cover signed? What works best for you?
Post 1 IP   flag post
I bought a meat grinder on amazon for $60 and it's changed my life. kaptainmyke private msg quote post Address this user
The industry standard is Sharpies. Don't let Dexter Vines sign your books with paint markers.

A lot of the time the creator has his own markers for signing, and a lot of people don't like touching other people's stuff.

Most recently however I made specific vertically taped window bags for J Scott Campbell books to sign (he and McFarlane are my 2 top favorite Spidey artists) and this time I actually sent in some neon sharpies that I tested out on a beater comic. I also included some gold and copper sharpies for Stan Lee, Jim Lee, and George Perez. I don't know if Matt will use them or not, but hey - one can try, right?

Good luck with your signing ventures. I learned after 5 years finally it's not worth the parking, the tickets, the lines, the people, the hassles - It'd actually CHEAPER going through a convention faciliator than doing it yourself, and the yellow label is just $5 per sig, which makes that cheaper than the $25 verified signatures too! How I wished I could go back in time and switch out my red labels for yellow labels!