Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Comics Copper AgeQuestions

My Maxx Grail216

Collector MetalPSI private msg quote post Address this user
Hello and allow me to introduce myself, if I have not already.

I started collecting Maxx when it first hit the shelves, I was never aware of the special Wizard 1/2 incentives that were first brought out. In fact I was barely aware of the mail away for the Purple 1/2.

I had been lugging around 3 longboxes for 20 years, full of Xmen, Spiderman and my favorites from Image, DarkHorse and NEC.

It wasn't till 2013 where I had finally decided to go through my stuff to see what I had. I hadn't expected to be carrying gold around all these years, but was surprised that some things have done pretty ok for being 20 years old.

I looked at my incomplete Maxx collection and decided one of the things I would like to do is complete that collection. How little did I know stepping in.

I had never heard of the ashcans, or how the later issues had a very low print run due to Sam being left alone to complete the title. I was only about 10 or 11 issues in.

I hopped on eBay and started picking things up here and there. It was by pure chance I found a dual sketched SS Edlund Tick SE that I had to have, where I picked up my very first slabbed comic.

I didn't know what a comic grading company was, all I thought was what a novel idea to encase a treasured comic in such a way that it wouldn't be damaged over time. I joined up with the CGC forums and the rest is history.

During my journey and following the awesome wealth of knowledge found online, I started my quest for all the issues I was missing, and started a new quest to have a complete Maxx run, signed and verified and graded.

Along the way, I found my grails. The wizard 1/2 Maxx test prints.