Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Comics Silver AgeQuestions

Dreaded Marvel Chipping2143

Collector QuaBrot private msg quote post Address this user
Is the chipping along the top of this otherwise brilliant sharp X-men Marvel Chipping, or just wear and tear?

Opinions on grade, specifically if this is Marvel Chipping how much it would affect or not affect grade, are welcome.

Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector Watcher private msg quote post Address this user
I'm no pro..but I don't see "chipping"...I see top edge wear with bends and creasing. I'd be more concerned with such a clean cut right edge and no overhang considering the cover wrap. Do you have a pic of the back ?
Post 2 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR JLS_Comics private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher
I'm no pro..but I don't see "chipping"...I see top edge wear with bends and creasing. I'd be more concerned with such a clean cut right edge and no overhang considering the cover wrap. Do you have a pic of the back ?

That right side does look very clean. I hope it wasnt trimmed
Post 3 IP   flag post

Thats the back of the book - it was not trimmed (been burned by that before, now I can tell if a book's been trimmed or not).

The book itself, except for the top, is incredible. Spine is amazing, edges and corners (except top) are amazing and sharp, cover glossy and smooth, but that top edge!!! Trying to figure out if its "Marvel Chipping" or it was stored in a way that the top got roughed up but the rest of the book was kept nice.

Thanks!
Post 4 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR JWKyle private msg quote post Address this user
Looks to me like that is just the overhang of the cover on the top of a the book curling in an cracking. Not chipping more then likely caused by improper storage.
Post 5 IP   flag post
Collector Johnnylray private msg quote post Address this user