Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Questions

How identifiable are back covers by themselves?20624

COLLECTOR dielinfinite private msg quote post Address this user
So I saw this on MCS and it got me wondering how identifiable a back cover is by itself? I haven’t paid a ton of attention to back covers but, at least from what I remember, many books would could have the same back and inside-back cover ads meaning it would be incredibly difficult, if not impossible to determine the book it came from from just the back cover.

Am I misremembering or can individual issues (or maybe just certain issues) be identified from just a back cover?

Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector StraightArrow private msg quote post Address this user
I'm not an expert by any means, but I'm with you. Having collected thousands of comics, I feel like it would be all but impossible to name a book with no other info than the back cover.
Post 2 IP   flag post
I blame the forum gremlins. figment private msg quote post Address this user
WOW!!! You know I'd pay all of zero dollars and zero cents for that!!!
Post 3 IP   flag post
I like bean sprouts. James42 private msg quote post Address this user
"CREAM TO OFF-WHITE Pages"

What pages? I don't see any pages.
Post 4 IP   flag post
I hear their hourly rate is outrageous! sportshort private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by figment
WOW!!! You know I'd pay all of zero dollars and zero cents for that!!!

You're way too generous.
Post 5 IP   flag post
Not trying to be an ass since February 12, 2020. HulkSmash private msg quote post Address this user
I’ve questioned this as well. Running the same ads for hundreds of series from multiple publishers on the same paper stock; how can you determine what book it’s from?

Now if it any portion of the spine with reasonable probability of being a match; like a miswrap with some cover color or something then ok I guess.
Post 6 IP   flag post