Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Questions

Chimney vs comicbooks20193

Collector TheShocker private msg quote post Address this user
Cold weather is coming and this is the firt year we have a wood burning chimney (moved in this year). Will using my chimney damage any if my comics stored in the same room? Comic short boxes are 20ft away but in the same room. Also have some single issues displayed on walls. About 10ft away from the chimney. Im.thinking maybe smoke could cause damage or maybe im over thinking it.
Post 1 IP   flag post
The apple sauce and pudding were the best part... Bronte private msg quote post Address this user
I'm no expert, but I'm thinking if they are bagged, they should be fine. My thoughts are, there is enough of a seal to where soot and smells won't penetrate the tape and plastic.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Suck it up, buttercup!! KatKomics private msg quote post Address this user
I would think no? I mean... ideally you have the flu open and any smoke goes well...up the chimney!

Also...like..what type of chimney? normal one built into the side of the house made out of brick - i.e. mostly for decoration and not a daily fire required for heating??
Or is it like a wood burning stove type - you know..frontier style with opening doors? those are a pain in the ass for the soot/ash tray but only like a couple of feet.

Again though the air goes in the vents at the bottom, the doors stay closed and any smoke goes outside

I think you are good - about the only real issue might be moisture content of the air - and again dependant on how frequently it is in use
Post 3 IP   flag post
-Our Odin-
Rest in Peace
Jesse_O private msg quote post Address this user