Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS GradedComics Modern AgeGrading Help NeededQuestionsSignatures

Could I get some insight on why my book got the grade it did?18588

Collector SoulReaverDan private msg quote post Address this user
I just got my first book from CBCS back after Baltimore Comic-Con... last year... and while I'm happy to have it back for my display wall, I was a bit surprised by how low the grade was.

It's Deadpool's Secret Secret Wars #2 Gwenpool variant, signed and remarqued by Chris Bachalo (really nice guy, he was a lot of fun to talk to). It came back as a 7.5 with the following grader notes:

-small impact top spine barely breaks color front cover
-small tear & crease top edge back cover breaks color
-surface wear along spine back cover breaks color

I'm still kinda new to the graded comics game, and this is the first book I got back from any grading service that just felt off. Can I get some insight from folks that have more experience or understanding of things? I understand it's not a perfect copy, but all the way down to a 7.5 just felt too low.

Thanks y'all!

Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector Bakersman private msg quote post Address this user
Its hard to tell from the pics but any kind of tear will significantly bring the grade down.(Similar to foxing on a white cover). Along with minor spine wear and a crease will hurt the grade. This also plays into the idea that yellow label books get graded tight, recently.

Very cool book though!! Enjoy it!
Post 2 IP   flag post
" . " Davethebrave private msg quote post Address this user
My opinion, if the resolution of the photo is too low for the label text to be sharp, it is too low to properly assess the condition of the book. At least to distinguish grades in the upper half of the range.
Post 3 IP   flag post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davethebrave