Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Comics Modern AgeGrading Help NeededQuestions

Newton Ring Help18382

Collector Sundog private msg quote post Address this user
Hey all,

I know this is CBCS forums, but I feel more at home here than CGC. I just got this book back from CGC and found some newton rings. I'm still somewhat new to slabs. Does this newton merit a reslab? Does this hurt the book overall? Should I contact the company?

Thanks so much

Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector ichipork private msg quote post Address this user
That looks bad enough to warrant a reholder. You must email them the request, along with pictures for evidence, within 10 days of receiving your slab.

CGC should give you a label for sending it back for free. Good luck.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector obiwan1971 private msg quote post Address this user
Does it hurt the book? No.
Would some people not want to buy it? Yes
You can have it re-slabbed or you can submit to cbcs which will re-grade it and slab it. Cbcs slabs don’t have newton rings
Post 3 IP   flag post
I haven't aired it out. It's part of the provenance. Galen130 private msg quote post Address this user
Newton Rings technically don't hurt the book inside the holder, but when it looks like a water puddle, it is obviously very unattractive. I would contact them about it and ask for a reholder under 'Mechanical' (I think). You'll probably need the photos you took to justify the reholder.

Newton Rings are accepted as 'normal', but what you have there is unacceptable. Be aware, though...with CGC's current run (2 to 3 years) of less than adequate comic book handling, that comic may come back with new problems. Take pictures of every angle of that comic so that you can compare when it comes back. I don't submit comics anymore, but I'd be nervous sending it back. Just my opinion.

Good luck!!!
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector Sundog private msg quote post Address this user