Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Comics Modern AgeGrading Help NeededQuestions

Batman Adventures 12 Staple Question18305

Collector mini_tb private msg quote post Address this user
Hello all,

I'm new here. I collected comics from 1992-1997 and am the proud owner of a large collection of mostly worthless comics. Or at least I thought they were all worthless. While researching easy ways to dump my collection in the last couple weeks, I learned about Batman Adventures #12 and have what appears to be a really nice copy.

I pulled it out of storage and snapped three quick pictures (outside on the sidewalk) of the cover and shared them with a friend. Took me awhile to figure it out, but the weird discoloration on the one image is the reflection of the clouds on the bag.

Anyhoo, I've never done anything grading-wise with comics, so I am completely new to this. My friend says the lower staple being misplaced will likely drop it to a 9.4. What do people think here? Just curious.

Thank you for your time!

Post 1 IP   flag post
I'd like to say I still turned out alright, but that would be a lie. flanders private msg quote post Address this user
That's news to me. I thought it didn't have an effect on the grade unless the staple is rusted, bent, or there are minor tears on the cover from staple pull.

Looks like a great copy. I hope you get it pressed and cleaned by a reputable presser and get a higher grade than expected.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Suck it up, buttercup!! KatKomics private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanders
That's news to me. I thought it didn't have an effect on the grade unless the staple is rusted, bent, or there are minor tears on the cover from staple pull.

Looks like a great copy. I hope you get it pressed and cleaned by a reputable presser and get a higher grade than expected.

I'm with @flanders - pretty sure that will have no effect - great copy!!!
Post 3 IP   flag post