Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »

Off topic; fishing. Show your catch part 217499

Suck it up, buttercup!! KatKomics private msg quote post Address this user
No catch but working on the outboard for my sail boat

Float looks bad on the carb but it will do it's job - couldn't get everything apart on the carb but did soak it well in cleaner - time to source a new float and some other back up parts -also a quick trip to get new 5/32 fuel line

Engine was stalling in waves at the end of the year and I could never replicate at the dock - with everything cleaned I hope it fixes the issue!!

Post 1 IP   flag post
The apple sauce and pudding were the best part... Bronte private msg quote post Address this user
I'm no mechanic but that looks like a carburetor. Man I was so sick of them in my mustang I switched to fuel injection....
Post 2 IP   flag post
Moderator Jesse_O private msg quote post Address this user
@KatKomics I'd say you need a new carb float.
Post 3 IP   flag post
" . " Davethebrave private msg quote post Address this user
I believe that is a carburetor and you need a new float.
Post 4 IP   flag post
@Jesse_O @Davethebrave 100% that is the carb and I need a float - it still does it's job ( I think) - cleaned up what I could - soaked the whole assembly for the parts I couldn't take off.
Need a new fuel line from the fuel pump to the carb (5/32?) so off to the shop later this week.
Just placed an order for a carb repair kit on-line - new float and more on the way!!!

I had a problem last year where the motor would cut out (like it was fuel starved) when in waves - fires up fine at the dock (and in the barrel) although seems to idle and just run better after a soaking in carb cleaner - my launch day is in just over a week so with luck the parts are here first (hate working on it over open water (goodbye into the water small part or tool - can't be that important right??!!)