Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Want to Buy

Drawing Pad Recommendations for a novice artist17038

Collector pikaqiu private msg quote post Address this user
I am an untrained artist drawing my first comic and I am realizing how long it takes to draw and color with a laptop mouse pad. What are the best affordable drawing tablets/pads that I could invest in? Saw that people recommended the XP-PEN ( https://www.xp-pen.com ) , how about it and if possible which model to get?

My current method is to draw everything with paper and pencil, scan it in and trace everything in gimp. So I’d be thrilled to hear anyone’s General advice for a first time comic maker.
Post 1 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR dielinfinite private msg quote post Address this user
You can find used Wacom Intuos 4 pads pretty damn cheap. They might not be state of the art now but they were good enough for industry work only a few years ago
Post 2 IP   flag post
I'd like to say I still turned out alright, but that would be a lie. flanders private msg quote post Address this user
I have a small Wacom intuos that works fine once you get used to it. I have limited artustic ability but it's been fun.

I've been using medibang paint pro but I may switch over to Krita since it has more brush options.
Post 3 IP   flag post
Ima gonna steal this and look for some occasion to use it! IronMan private msg quote post Address this user
If you already own a good Apple or Android tablet, you may not need to do anything except download a digital art / drawing / painting app. There are some surprisingly good ones for little or no cost.

iPad
https://www.cnet.com/tech/services-and-software/best-ipad-drawing-apps/

Android
https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/top-3-free-digital-painting-apps-android/
Post 4 IP   flag post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dielinfinite