Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS GradedCBCS Signature ASPComics Restoration and ConservationQuestions

How much would a press really help?1643

Collector bythegram private msg quote post Address this user
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the whole grading/slabbing side of collecting. In fact I just submitted my first 3 books this summer. Overall I am pretty happy with the grades received but now I am curious if I should cleaned/pressed and resubmit.

The main book I am thinking about is my Spider-man #1 (Platinum Edition) that I had signed by Stan Lee. I knew it wouldn't grade super high(came back 8.5) but after looking at the graders notes I think some of the defects might be able to be pressed out.

Here are the notes:

spine wear & stress, tiny edge & corner wear breaks color
small crease top edge front cover barely breaks color & bends through book, tiny crease bottom left corner back cover breaks color
light scratch along bottom spine back cover breaks color, light surface wear bottom spine back cover
writing indents middle front cover does not break color

Just a note about that last point, I managed to get this book super cheap because it had writing on the cover that was not verified as an authentic signature, I managed to clean off the ink from the writing but the indent remained.

So my three big questions are:

1. Will a press help any of the grader notes, if so what are we talking as far as estimated grade bump (.5? 1.0?)

2. I'm assuming a press will still allow for the book to be resubmitted and retain it's yellow label am I correct?

3. Any recommended companies out there that I should look into for this?

Unfortunately I am work so I don't have any photos handy but any tips/advice you can provide would be great.

Thanks in advance!
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector Darkga private msg quote post Address this user