Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Collector Eclipse9665 private msg quote post Address this user
I am fairly new to slabs. I sent some books to get graded to CBCS and every once in a while I will buy a CGC slab. I recently bought a CGC slab (which was graded/encapsulated in August 2021) and it arrived in good shape. All the corner posts inside the slab (or whatever they are called) are intact and the case itself has no damage.

But the top of the slab is not airtight. It can be slightly pried open.

From what I have been told by other people, that was normal for older slabs but for newer ones they are usually fully sealed (unless they changed again and I don't know about it). Please correct me if I am wrong

I am planning to resell this slab so I am wondering if that slight space at the top of the slab is a problem. The slab is not broken, but the top is unfortunately not perfectly sealed.

Thanks for the advice.
Post 1 IP   flag post
I haven't aired it out. It's part of the provenance. Galen130 private msg quote post Address this user
Pics?
Post 2 IP   flag post
@Galen130 It is very hard to show in a picture but here is my best attempt.

Post 3 IP   flag post
I haven't aired it out. It's part of the provenance. Galen130 private msg quote post Address this user
Sorry, I should've clarified more. Would you add a pic of the slab...just the front?
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector WndrWmn74 private msg quote post Address this user
Sadly, it being CGC, I’m not that shocked. Knowing them you could probably shake it and the book would move around inside of it…which is also NOT supposed to happen. Sorry this happened to you.
Post 5 IP   flag post
@WndrWmn74 No it's actually quite sturdy. It's simply that the top of the slab isn't fully sealed. I can push it down and it'll sort of "click back into place" but then it will unclick itself after a bit or if someone tries to pry it open.
Post 6 IP   flag post