Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Grading Help NeededQuestions

Newbie here, advice on my only comic15311

Collector ralpheal1 private msg quote post Address this user
Hello,
Is it ok to post a pic of my comic to see if it will be worth getting graded. I want to sell it, but was told if its graded I may get more for it.
Its Raphael #1 1985, some minor wrinkles on the spine, other than that it looks good.
Thanks for any advice
Post 1 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR dielinfinite private msg quote post Address this user
Yes, people on the boards typically enjoy testing their grading eye by examining books
Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector Belarak private msg quote post Address this user
Welcome to the forums!

Yes graded comics do sell for more because it sets a standard grade to a comic that gives a guide to pricing. raw comics while they may be graded correctly people like to see that number on a slab.

You might even get an offer or two here. Be aware turnaround times on grading have gotten a little crazy. Theres been an explosion in the collectible grading world.
Post 3 IP   flag post
I'd like to say I still turned out alright, but that would be a lie. flanders private msg quote post Address this user
Raphael #1 is a magazine sized comic and can't be encapsulated by CBCS. I think you'd be better off with CGC instead of choosing the CBCS raw grade option for magazine sized comics. Your other option is to consign the comic through mycomicshop.com. They'll grade the book for you and you can sell it on their site less a 10% commission. You'd get more money once the book sells if you go through CGC. However, the turnaround time at CGC for magazine sized slabs is over 8 months.
Post 4 IP   flag post
@dielinfinite Thanks!

Post 5 IP   flag post
The apple sauce and pudding were the best part... Bronte private msg quote post Address this user