Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Questions

Tax efficient profits?14814

Collector jaysonslade private msg quote post Address this user
45 year collector here, but... complete newb to selling as a business. I understand I should keep good records in order to pay appropriate sales tax. But where I'm confused is this. If I'm in a constant cycle of buying, grading, selling, and using the profits earned to buy and grade more inventory... do you suggest maintaining individual inventory records where every book stands on its own? As it would be at a car dealership? (Ex: This book earned $72 and this book lost $5. Then just calculate them all out at the end of the year?) Or would I be better off if there were less specific entries like "spent $400 on 6 books, $687 on grading fees, $413 on supplies; and earned $2350 from selling 12 books... for a net profit of $850 this month. Then either pay income tax on the $850 or (here's the real question) just spend $850 more for comics or grading fees and essentially wash out all the profit? In other words, if I'm constantly buying more "bigger and better" books and grading more other books, couldn't I potentially never show a profit until the day comes that I actually sell the last one? Or am I missing a blatantly glaring piece of the taxable pie? It seems like if my day job pays my bills and living expenses and I have a business license to sell comics and never (until the end) take out funds as profit to keep, wouldn't that be a tax efficient way to do business? Then when I finally slow down the buying and start selling off, have the tax implication at that time? It certainly feels like I'm missing something huge. Any advice is appreciated.
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector cesidio private msg quote post Address this user