Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Questions

tax consequences 202214570

Collector tonyz58 private msg quote post Address this user
Anyone out there with with knowledge re new tax law for 2022 re collectibles?? Will all sales be regarded as ordinary income?? Any suggestions to protect ourselves?? Or are we screwed??
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector Dalkiel private msg quote post Address this user
Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector Jabberwookie private msg quote post Address this user
I would definitely seek out a tax professional.

I have some experience with stocks, bonds and dividends, but where those differ from collectibles is the cost basis is recorded somewhere.

Basically, there is a record of what you bought and sold it for.

There doesn’t seem to be anything like that for collectibles, so you’ll be paying on all of what you made.

Unless, you kept a lot of receipts.
Post 3 IP   flag post
Collector doog private msg quote post Address this user
Anything over $600 in sales you will get a 1099 from EBay or whoever you use. Comics are taxed for capital gains purposes at 40%
Hope you have some write offs to reduce the tax.
Even worse case I made a killing off my comics investment.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector Murm private msg quote post Address this user
How about here on the boards if someone receives a payment thru PayPal Goods & Services?
Does PayPal report it to the IRS?
Post 5 IP   flag post
Have I told you about the time I dropped off 3,000 comics at SDCC? Scifinator private msg quote post Address this user
@tonyz58 - Well, that is an interesting question. First off, technically no. Sale of collectibles is a capital gain not ordinary income though some capital gains are taxed as ordinary income and collectibles are subject to a capital gains tax rate that is higher than the typical capital gains rate.