Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Signature VSPSignatures

What to do about interior signatures?13418

Collector Bartonarms private msg quote post Address this user
Hello All,

CBCS just informed me that Jim Lee and Chris Claremont signed the 1st page of my X-Men #268. (I had completely forgotten this when I sent it in). I'm trying to decide whether to get them verified and slabbed (locking the sigs away forever), or having it sent back unslabbed.

I'm still fairly new to grading and collecting, but I want to get the community's opinion on a possible solution to the interior signature problem. If CBCS offered a service wherein they took a high-quality photo of an interior (verified) signature, and then included it inside the case (obscuring part or all of the back cover), would you use it? To me, this seems like a good compromise - the book is graded and protected, but I can still see (or show off) the signatures, giving up only my view of the back cover (which I rarely care to see anyway).

Should CBCS offer such a service? What would you be willing to pay for it?
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector vacaboca private msg quote post Address this user
That might be interesting, but since the grader's notes are free, and linked on the label with a QR code (or is that just my imagination?), it would make more sense for them to just have the photograph(s) on the grader's notes web page than screw with the case or label setup, in my opinion.
Post 2 IP   flag post
If I could, I would. I swear. DrWatson private msg quote post Address this user
Verify and slab it. Next.
Post 3 IP   flag post
I'll probably wake up constipated. Pre_Coder private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrWatson
Verify and slab it. Next.

This, with pics.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector DavidM private msg quote post Address this user
Verify, slab, and pics.