Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Questions

What Qualifies as a "News Stand" Variant?13253

Collector mscheel15 private msg quote post Address this user
I know this is a total newbie question but I'm trying to pin this down. Is this simply an edition that didn't get distributed thru the direct sales market? I was buying almost everything off the news stands (local mom & pop shops) up thru around 1985. My whole collection is that up to that time. Is there really a premium in the collectors market for this? It seems odd to me & I don't know why there would be any type of premium on this. Or is this something else entirely? Discuss...
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector Cowabunga_Kyle private msg quote post Address this user
@mscheel15 the newsstand variants were sold anywhere that was NOT a comic shop, a newspaper stand (hence the term newsstand), a drug store, what have you.

The reason ppeople find these more appealing and why they fetch a higher price is they tended to be reader copies and not nearly as well preserved as issues that came directly from comic shops. Especially since the people who stocked them did not treat them with any kind of care, they were just the funny books. So it's increasingly rare to find high grade newsstand variants.

Most newsstands are easy to spot where one copy of a book that came from a comic shop would have a drawing or Spidey in the square on the bottom of the book, the newsstand would have the UPC code in that spot.

Example:

Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector PixelPanda144 private msg quote post Address this user
Yup.

I know the newsstand variants from the early ‘80 have barcodes in the box on the lower left corner of the cover, while the direct editions tend to have a picture in that box (Spider-Man’s head for example...)