Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Signature VSPComics Restoration and ConservationQuestionsSignatures

Pressing signed comic books?11271

Collector Madman private msg quote post Address this user
Hello all, I am new to the grading and slab process. I have been collecting since I was a kid. My question is: Can autographed comics be "pressed and cleaned" without the risk of damaging the autographs? I have a lot of books autographed since way before the grading companies opened for business. Most of them with their respective COAs. I really want to get them cleaned, graded and slabbed. Thank you for your time.
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector GanaSoth private msg quote post Address this user
@Madman Welcome to the forums!
Yes, comics that have autographs can be cleaned without worrying about it damaging the integrity of the signature. When they clean & press they "dry clean" and do not dip the comics in solution. That would be more among the lines of conservation or preserving.

PS: CGC will not care if you have COAs. If they don't witness the signature first hand, it will not get a signature series slab.
CBCS on the other hand is far superior & offers Signature Verification services.
Post 2 IP   flag post
If I could, I would. I swear. DrWatson private msg quote post Address this user
Yes.
Post 3 IP   flag post
It was a one trick pony show but always hilarious. GAC private msg quote post Address this user
@Madman welcome!!!!

Yes, signed comics can be pressed and cleaned. If signatures were not witness by CBCS or CGC (after a certain date I believe) then you'll get a red/verified label....assuming the signature passes verification. COAs are inconsequential.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector Darkseid_of_town private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madman