Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »

Scanners that can scan slabbed books?10253

I'm a #2. BigRedOne1944 private msg quote post Address this user
While I really like the Epson V30 scanner I have been using for the past 4-5 years, It's not big enough to accommodate the full length of Graded slabbed books.

Any Recommendations?

Not looking to spend a fortune on "Bells & Whistles" I don't need. just a good scanner that produces a nice high quality scan.
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector poka private msg quote post Address this user
Hp scanjet 8200/8300.

However, nowadays i use the Google PhotoScan app
Post 2 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR dielinfinite private msg quote post Address this user
When my local library switched from a CCD scanner to CIM scanner I had to get a scanner of my own to make up for it. The CCD vs CIM difference is crucial for scanning slabs because the actual book is not pressed up directly to the glass when scanning. CIM technology is less expensive and used on most consumer scanners but works best when the material is pressed right up against the scanning glass. CCD technology is older, more expensive tech to produce and isn’t used in most new scanners until you get up to the prosumer/pro level equipment but it does have a deeper depth of field allowing it to get better scans of slabs.

This is the same book on a CCD vs a CIM scanner:

I bought an old HP Scanjet 8200 scanner, less than $100 shipped. It fits a slab. The thing you need to be aware of is that it is an older scanner and doesn’t have official drivers for Windows 10. I bought the VueScan app for an additional $30 which supports the scanner on modern operating systems.

The scan at the default settings looks very flat and gray so you have to tweak the settings (brightness, saturation, etc;a one-time thing) to get the scan to look good but once you get past the initial set-up things go smoothly and I’ve been very happy with the quality of the scans