Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS GradedQuestions

Introducing myself. Could you introduce CBCS1006

Collector EddiePaxil private msg quote post Address this user
I am new to the boards here and to having my comics graded and slabbed frankly. So I thought I'd introduce myself, and combine that introduction with a call to have you guys tell me what I should expect as a CBCS customer.

I am a 39yo manager at a Dunkin' Donuts. I am also a college sophomore studying sports management, with an eye (my only one I might add) on a career in baseball.

I collected comics throughout my youth, but always had a special place in my heart for the Jade Giant himself, The Incredible Hulk. I got away from collecting as I pursued a struggling career in music through my 20s. At the urging of my wife who always saw me eyeing comics at stores and the internet, I called my mom to get my collection from her and start up again. My mom had, "lost," my comics. That was code for she sold them all. So I had to start from scratch.

Now we live cheap and know how to budget ourselves quite well. However, a fast food worker and a mailroom lead can't afford to take on the massive undertaking of collecting everything cool they can get their hands on. So I made the decision to only collect Hulks. I started by trying to replace what had been "lost." Issues 300-400 roughly of the 1968-1999 run. It's been under a year and I shattered that goal thanks to the internet. I now have most of the run from 102-474 including 297-474 straight. Condition varies, but I'm not looking to ever sell them so I'm more concerned with having them. What next? I've expanded my goal. I want to one day own every comic the Hulk has ever appeared in. And so I've begun the process. That leads me to how I came here.