Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Questions

Is It Ok To Buy / Own 9.6 Books601

Collector mattness private msg quote post Address this user
Hi,

I am brand new to collecting / investing slabbed books. I grew up reading comics in the mid to late eighties on to the mid nineties. I have recently wanted to obtain some of the books I had as a kid in slab form. All I have been hearing or seeing is 9.8 this or 9.8 that. According to ebay, if you have a 9.8 you can charge whatever you want. Is there a market for 9.6 books? I have seen a few signed books at 9.6 that are more in my price range than an unsigned 9.8. If need be, is it difficult to re-sell a 9.6 graded book? Should I just suck it up and pay for a 9.8? Any thoughts would be much appreciated Thanks.

Matt
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector Muggyman84 private msg quote post Address this user
The newer the book the more "taboo" a 9.8 is. Nothing wrong with owning a 9.6 for your pc but for resale i would say most of the time grab the 9.8 (with moderns for sure) silver and gold holds less high grade stigma.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector LordRahl private msg quote post Address this user
Nothing wrong with 9.6s. If you are this new to it, you probably won't know the difference between a 9.6 and a 9.8 until you have seen lots of examples of each. And even then, sometimes the difference isn't apparent.

Are 9.6s tougher to sell? No. They just sell for less. But then again you are buying them for less also. Will they appreciate? For copper and modern, probably not. For bronze and earlier, depends on the book.

If you are buying mainly/solely for investment, I'd say do a lot more research before you start buying any books, whether they be 9.6 or 9.8 or any other grade. If you are buying for nostalgia and you are going to hold onto them, nothing wrong with 9.6s.
Post 3 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR DarthLego private msg quote post Address this user