Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »

Advice on coverless comic3387

Collector 99issues private msg quote post Address this user
I have the opportunity to acquire a Detective Comics 38 missing the cover. I am not an expert on coverless books so I was hoping some folks could pitch in some advice..

1. What would you value such a book?
2. Would adding a repro cover for grading purpose make it more or less attractive to future collectors/buyers?
3. I like this book alot but for a few grand more.. I can get a complete copy. Input?

Thanks in advance guys/gals
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector Zombiebigfoot private msg quote post Address this user
Do you have any pics or scans of the book? Depending on the overall wear & tear that's always gonna be a factor (I know, I'm stating the obvious!). Here's some advice that was given to me:

1. The value's going to vary depending on the market. There's always a demand for older books, coverless or not, and someone's always looking for these books. I'd check EBay & other auction sites to get an estimated value.

2. Adding any aftermarket upgrades could hinder your chance to resell the book. But then again, there's always people looking to buy a graded book no matter what improvements have been made! Key issues, first appearances, etc., are always sought after for collections but many would choose to have it "as is" without add-ons.

3. I say if it's a book you'd really like to have then pick it up, but shop around if possible. Who knows? You might be able to find that book @ a lower cost and put the extra bucks towards another gem for your collection!

I hope I was able to help ya out a bit. People here are VERY helpful & are always happy to help a fellow collector. So happy hunting & good luck! 🤘🏻😆🤘🏻
Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector andy49 private msg quote post Address this user
disclaimer: I'm also no expert on coverless comics