Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS GradedComics Silver AgeQuestions

Is this a problem?1478

Collector lobovike private msg quote post Address this user
Thank you to the forum for helping a new collector. I am new to collecting graded comics and have recently bought my first few CBCS books... CBCS seemed like the way to go in the current market with the tamper proof holder and inner well that is free from scrutiny.

On one of my books the corner seems to have become detached slightly with a flake of it hanging off, please see the attached photos. Does this negatively impact the grade it was given? Thanks again for all your help.

Post 1 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR dielinfinite private msg quote post Address this user
Here are the grader's notes for the book.. The issue you pointed out would be the corner wear listed in the. oces and certainly would've contributed to the grade.

That issue alone wouldn't have lowered the score very much by itself but the book has an accumulation of small issues.
Post 2 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR conditionfreak private msg quote post Address this user
Short answer: Yes.

It happens. I have a wonderful book in a 9.8 slab. That the same thing happened to the bottom right corner, after grading and encapsulation.

My book is not a 9.0 I think.

Some might blame it on "shaken comic syndrome", which just means that being shaken around from shipping while in the slab, things can get damaged.

Some might say that the piece was almost off, but not off, during grading. And now the books grade has changed.

But however you slice it. The book is not the same. Much like if the book in the slab, had been stored in a moist environment.

Whatever the reason. Sorry. It sucks.