Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Questions

How do I safely prepare my shipment?915

Collector Zombiebigfoot private msg quote post Address this user
Hi all! Recently I had 2 comics signed @ Motor City Comic Con. Seeing as how CBCS were there to take care of all of the shipping of items, all I had to do was cover the costs on site.

My question to all of you is this - how do I package a new order to send in? I'm new to all of this & am excited to start grading more of my collection, but don't have the slightest idea how to pack up my comics! Any and all help anyone can give to this "newbie" will be GREATLY appreciated.

I did speak with Mr. Ricketts and he gave me some guidelines -

1)Ship in a box
2)Eliminate as much movement in the box as possible
3)Do not put pressure on the spine edge of a comic
4)Bundle books in "bricks" and wrap them in bubble wrap

He also said they'll eventually do a video on this.
Post 1 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR dielinfinite private msg quote post Address this user
Basically stack the books, alternating the spine orientation (bagged and boarded of course), fit them between two pieces of cardboard, tape the bundle together (they recommend no more than 10 books per bundle). Place it in a box using bubble wrap to prevent movement before taping it up to ship off
Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector dpiercy private msg quote post Address this user
Honestly, the CGC video tutorial is an excellent primer:

But, you know, send your books to the grading company of your preference.
Post 3 IP   flag post
Collector CCD private msg quote post Address this user
Double box them.
Post 4 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR DarthLego private msg quote post Address this user