Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Signature ASPCBCS Signature VSPQuestionsSignaturesSigning Opportunities

Signature Location909

Collector Jamiemadrox private msg quote post Address this user
I've been going back and forth with the placement of a signature on a book. For me, I've always ever had books signed on the front cover. But, IMHO, a book with three or more signatures looks cluttered and completely takes away from the cover art. Is it acceptable practice to have the signatures on the back cover? Or the first page?

I'm trying to get a good idea of opinions in the community. I'm relatively new to signed and graded scene. LOL
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector MetalPSI private msg quote post Address this user
Splash page was the old go to places for sigs, before people starting signing the covers
Post 2 IP   flag post
I personally like a splash sig on a hardcover TPB.

I don't mind having a cover sign, slabbed anyways. It's a nice display.

If I know I am not slabbing a book, I will go for the splash sig
Post 3 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR DarthLego private msg quote post Address this user
There was a point in time when it was customary for signatures to go on the first page rather than the cover. (Metal beat me to it)

I think the advent of slabbing led to the cover being more common.
Post 4 IP   flag post
The book in question is an old TMNT book that is very busy on the cover with a lot of darker colors that also don't lend themselves very well to a gold or silver sharpie. Certainly not black. I'm leaning towards going for the back (predominantly white) back cover. I'm also having an issue with placement because of getting 4 signatures makes it hard to prep the book not knowing the size of each person's handwriting. LOL.
Post 5 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR dielinfinite private msg quote post Address this user