Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »

Have We Become too Picky?6098

Collector D84 private msg quote post Address this user
I've been collecting comics off and on for almost 30 years, and I'm noticing a large of collectors (myself included) are turning their noses up at really pretty books because of a number in the corner or a couple small flaws.

Have we gotten too picky?

This is a question I ask myself often when it comes to books in my collection. Recently, I purchased an 8.5 for my collection and there is a part of me that thinks it's not nice enough to keep. The book is over 40 years old.

How did we get to this point? I remember when anything Very Fine or better was an outstanding copy, and now Very Fines are considered "mid grade."

I don't really know where I'm going with this, it's just something that's been going through my head recently.
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector jrs private msg quote post Address this user
Yes.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Suck it up, buttercup!! KatKomics private msg quote post Address this user
yes...yes..yes...

remember when 9 or 9.2 raw was considered NM/M and was more than good enough??

in some ways it's good - I can get 9-9.6 raw or graded books for less than the crazy 9.8!!
Post 3 IP   flag post
Collector Hanginglimbs private msg quote post Address this user
It's ridiculous. Many of us grew up thinking that a 9.2 was as good as a 10.0.

It is.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector jrs private msg quote post Address this user
I'm still quite happy to buy 9.0 and lower books, especially in light of the price differential. I haven't gotten caught up in the 9.2, 9.4, 9.6, or 9.8 wars, at least not yet.
Post 5 IP   flag post
The apple sauce and pudding were the best part... Bronte private msg quote post Address this user
I'm divided. I recognize that a 8.5 is an acceptable book, but damn I was a better copy of spiderman 14....

🙄
Post 6 IP   flag post