Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Grading Help NeededMemorabiliaPop Culture

Label Critique5501

Collector ozonetv private msg quote post Address this user
As a relative newbie to collecting (I've just gotten back into it after about 40 years), the whole idea grading makes a lot of sense, for protection and resale of high value books. I get it.

But as a graphic designer I'm dismayed by the label design and grading system being used by all the grading companies.

It seems obvious that labels should inform and not compete or distract from the book. The massive size, content and especially the color don't fit the bill.

For example, whats the point of a color grading system if its redundant to the information printed on the label. Why use color at all? Not to mention the psychological effect of a purple, green or other qualifying color making the books owner feel like they own a lesser quality copy. It ruins it. Why not just label it with simple text?

Anyway, I'd love to hear others thoughts on this...just to kick things off I'm posting an idea how to improve on the labels...and I'm sure theres a lot of better options.

Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector ComicHaulics private msg quote post Address this user
That label looks nice! Personally, I like the different colors. It may be redundant but I still think it is necessary. The newer CBCS labels are nice, as well as the newer CGC labels. I love the big bold grade on the CGC ones, perfect, I wouldn't change a thing.

New ones are a HUGE improvement over the old ones. They finally look crisp and clear!

New:

Old:
Post 2 IP   flag post
Collector Scorpion private msg quote post Address this user
i like the color labels there easy to identify, as to having all labels black then try to read through them as to whether there restore, signature and so on,
one fast look and you know yellow is a authentic signature. i think point made.
Post 3 IP   flag post