clickable text
Post 1 IP   flag post
Collector neyko private msg quote post Address this user
One more

clickable text
Post 2 IP   flag post
Suck it up, buttercup!! KatKomics private msg quote post Address this user
yeah - don't.
MY LCS has just changed hands but has been around since before I was 12 (43 now).
I am fully aware that it is the long time pre-order people that keep it going.
Many other have come and gone - one is now just a booth at a weekend flea market.

Pretty sure one not too far away was originally just to launder money, has changed hands and now probably sells 'other things' to stay afloat.
Post 3 IP   flag post
Collector helsabot private msg quote post Address this user
I worked in a shop for 18 years and struggle with this topic, and yes don't do it. It is a hard business to break into unless your in a market with no shops around. Even then let's just say your competing for people's $$$ when they would rather spend it on other entertainment. What I have found these days is doing small comic centric conventions usually one day event is the most lucrative, but still a hard thing to really break into. I could go on with what is just my opinion for working these for more than half my life, but yes in the end it will suck your life and love of comics away.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector RRO private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by helsabot
I worked in a shop for 18 years and struggle with this topic, and yes don't do it. It is a hard business to break into unless your in a market with no shops around. Even then let's just say your competing for people's $$$ when they would rather spend it on other entertainment. What I have found these days is doing small comic centric conventions usually one day event is the most lucrative, but still a hard thing to really break into. I could go on with what is just my opinion for working these for more than half my life, but yes in the end it will suck your life and love of comics away.