Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Questions

Is this a pressable defect?1901

Collector jrs private msg quote post Address this user
Can this be pressed out? This copy of Tales to Astonish 53 is beautiful except for these and other indentations on the cover. None of them break color.
Post 1 IP   flag post
I live in RI and Rhode Islanders eat chili with beans. esaravo private msg quote post Address this user
@jrs - That looks like a good candidate for pressing. Someone wrote on a piece of paper that was over the comic, or perhaps on the bag the comic was stored in. I am no expert, but I think a good presser should be able to lift the impressions of the writing out.
Post 2 IP   flag post
You think I'm joking, I'm not. earthshaker01 private msg quote post Address this user
@jrs depends on who presses it. Most can be taken out, but there is a technique to remove something like that. Probably take a few different pressing techniques
Post 3 IP   flag post
Thanks for the input.

Since I have zero personal experience with pressing, would I get charged multiple times if the first time does not work and the presser has to keep working on it? Or does it generally depend on the presser?

Also, has anyone had similar indentations pressed out successfully? If so, who did you use? Hero Restoration looks promising, based on the before and after photos on its website.

This is one of probably three books I would consider submitting for pressing; I can live with the defects on my other books for the most part.
Post 4 IP   flag post
COLLECTOR Foghorn_Sam private msg quote post Address this user
I had a few books like this I sent in to CFP. You could not tell those indentations were ever there once they came back except in one certain area for some reason. Still, I'd say 95% of it was gone.
Post 5 IP   flag post
Collector Mio private msg quote post Address this user
Pressing would help. CFP and Hero can I recommend for that.