Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
CBCS Comics
Not a CBCS member yet? Join now »
Grading Help Needed

PGM GIANT SIZE X-MEN 1153

Collector WCollecbales private msg quote post Address this user
Hi,
Any help would be much appreciated, I'm very new to comics and haven't gotten my head around the grading yet. I have a rough estimate but my accuracy is questionable.
Thanks in advanced!

Post 1 IP   flag post
Moderator The_Watcher private msg quote post Address this user
What's going on with the back cover? Is that some kind of rippling from creases or moisture?
Post 2 IP   flag post
It's a binding ripple caused at the point of manufacture. I'm not to sure how this would affect the grade. Any estimate would be much appreciated.
Post 3 IP   flag post
It definitely affects the grade, but I'm pretty sure it can be lessened by pressing, if you're so inclined. It's a little difficult to see the book against the white background. In the future, you may want to use a sheet of colored (or coloured) construction paper as a background. It makes a white covered book stand out more. That being said, it looks to be in the F/F+ range.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Collector Owen_Lorder private msg quote post Address this user
I think youd have to provide us with higher rez pics in order to assess a close to accurate grade on this. Just a thought
Post 5 IP   flag post
Collector Owen_Lorder private msg quote post Address this user
But so far I agree with Watch.. needs pressing
Post 6 IP   flag post
If I could, I would. I swear. DrWatson private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Watcher
What's going on with the back cover? Is that some kind of rippling from creases or moisture?

It's from the glue. A good presser who knows how to handle square bounds without crushing the spine can even it out.
Post 7 IP   flag post
Collector PovRow private msg quote post Address this user